Price-Deverick Scholarship for Teachers

Price-Deverick Teacher Scholarship

The Watauga Education Foundation recognizes that creative and innovative teachers want to continue their own learning to be the most effective teacher they can be.  This is why the foundation  provides professional development scholarships for teachers in a partnership with Blue Ridge Energy that honors former Blue Ridge Energy leaders and champions of education.


The Price-Deverick scholarship program for teacher development was initiated in 1993 by Blue Ridge Energy Membership Corporation (BREMCO) to help improve the educational opportunities in Watauga County Schools. BREMCO invited the Watauga Education Foundation (WEF) to join forces with them in this endeavor in 1997.

The scholarships are named for the late Barbara Deverick and Gwyn B. Price, former Blue Ridge Energy Membership Corporation leaders and champions of education. Our partnership with Blue Ridge Energy has funded more than $60,000 worth of teacher scholarships!

2024 Price-Deverick Teacher Development Scholarship Recipients

Allyson McFalls, Blowing Rock School, 6th grade science and ELA for North Carolina for Museum of Natural Sciences Educators of Excellence Yellowstone Summer Institute

Genal West, Watauga High School/Watauga Innovation Academy, 9-12 grade, Art Foundations and Digital Photography for Eastern Tennessee State University, Research and Methods in Appalachian Studies or Appalachian Community Engagement course.

McKinley Kunz, Bethel School 9, K-8 Literacy Specialist for The Reading League 8th Annual Conference

Samuel Brown, Watauga High School, Ceramics Teacher for Western Carolina University, MAT Art Education Program – NC Teaching Licensure